Himalayas of Violinists

Bach Sonatas and Partitas

Educational edition
with technical indications

by George Enescu
collected by Serge Blanc
Scroll down

During the years of instruction he received from master George Enescu, Serge Blanc collected and marked technical and interpretive indications for what Enescu called "The Himalayas of violinists" : the Sonatas & Partitas for solo violin by Johann Sebastian Bach.

This exceptional document brings together these notes which regard sonority, phrasing, tempo, fingering, and expression, the culmination of the life’s work of a master considered as one of the greatest interpreters of this work.

After having taught his own students for more than half a century, Serge Blanc wished to pass on to future generations of violinists the valuable guidance of George Enescu by collecting and commenting on his notes. Here they are, available in a single document for free download.

For more information about Serge Blanc, please visit the official website dedicated to his life and works.

Online version


Get it on...

Get it on iBooks

Get it on IMSLP

Get it on Kobo

Get it on Google Play

Get it on Nook

Get it on Amazon